WEEK 3

Workplace Environment & Interpersonal skills observed and/or used

Homestead is a multicultural working environment which has been working for the development and integrity of the Roxburgh Park Community. Recently on March 25, 2010 it has completed its successful 11th anniversary.  It offers wide verity of adult learning programs like English learning, painting, yoga, dancing and many more. Homestead got a computer lab in order to train the adults in basic computing skills. Most of the times it provides the courses which are useful in developing workplace skills need to get a job. Homestead always welcomes the community to make full use of its facilities, programs and activities.

In any organization interpersonal skills are the key for effective communication. Homestead got a small team of 7 members. I found this internship very useful as I have been improving my communication skills. Even though I worked in an environment where I had to deal with the customers face to face, here I am learning the professional aspects of the communication. Other important thing I have been learning is telephone manner. It is always very different to communicate on the phone and conveying the message in contrast to face-to-face communication where we use voice as well as gestures. I feel telephone communication is bit hard compared to face-to-face.

Leave a comment