WEEK 10

PERSONAL SWOT ANALYSIS

Strengths :

  • Attention to details
  • Strong verbal communication
  • Patience to listen to the customers
  • Enthusiasm to learn new technologies

 

 

Weaknesses:

  • I have poor writing skills especially spelling
  • Time management (rush to complete the things)
Opportunities:

  • This is very important factor for me as I want to become a Tester/Business Analyst.
  • I can effectively deliver the outcome of the project.
  • My listening skills give me the opportunity to better understand the requirement of the clients and negotiate with them.
  • This is always important an ICT professional which will give opportunity to work on new technologies.

 

Threats:

  • Poor writing skills lead to the threat of poor documentation.
  • Time management is one of the critical factors in any professional work place. Lack of time management may leads to the increase in the project cost.  

 

Internship given me an opportunity to learn and apply both personal and professional skills in real-time working environment. Even though I feel I have the attributes like attention to details, communication skills and ability to learn new technologies, internship gave me the chance to better demonstrate these attributes. As I mentioned previously I have been doing technology audit, where attention to details is a vital factor in analysis process. Internship also gave me a chance to improve and practice my communication skills in a professional manner. With my interest in learning new technologies I have been learning about the new devices and software (like e-white board and Omnia registration software) which are purchased by the Homestead and not being used to their full capacity as they didn’t got  trained to use it. Next week I am planning to give a demonstration of how the e-white board works. I feel this would improve my presentation skills.

The main two areas of improvement for me are writing skills and time management.

Strategies for Improving Writing Skills

There are different ways of improving the writing skills; we can only improve writing skills if and only if we are practicing it. There are different ways of doing it.  Find a picture or image which is interesting and start writing about it for 10 mins or so. Then read through the information and correct the mistakes under the supervision of a friend or teacher. Same as this, open a dictionary, choose a word and start writing about it for a while. This will elaborate the thinking in the writing.

Strategies for better Time Management

It is important to complete professional and personal tasks on time. Most of the time I rush to complete the things as I am not good with the time management. If we have multiple tasks to complete at a point of time, I feel it is important to break tasks into smaller and manageable ones. I would also draw a timeline to complete each task and finish it accordingly. I would prefer to have organizer which would give me an alarm to indicate the start of the tasks.

Leave a comment